Barefoot Racing

Barefoot offers major racing circuit events each year, including the annual two-day "Barefoot Open Regatta" early in October. The club sponsors racing series for its PHRF and Portsmouth fleets from January through November with awards to skippers and crew for each series. Regular club races are held on Lake Lanier and include both buoy and long-distance (around the islands) racing. The club's sailing instructions (click race name hyperlink) detail the rules of racing with Barefoot. The Races are started using the staggered start system (pursuit race).  Consult the Pursuit Start Courses and Pursuit Handicap Table for details. Visitors are invited to crew for races - just attend the skippers' meeting held 2 hours before each race to see which skippers need crew. 

Annually, we award a "Racing Skipper of the Year".  To qualify, the skipper must have raced in at least 4 races of either BFSC series, at least 2 races of the other BFSC series, and must have served on Race committee at least once during the Dorton Cup Series. 


By season, the Barefoot races are:


Dean Holcomb Poker Run/Mad Hatter & Chili Cookoff* - NOE | SI - Come out and have fun in the annual Poker Run/ Mad Hatter on Friday, January 1, 2021, hosted by Barefoot Sailing Club and Southern Sailing Club. It will be Five-Card Stud with the first card being handed out at the Skipper’s Meeting.  The participants will gather four more cards from marks on the lake.  Afterwards, we gather to reveal poker hands and partake in the fiercely competitive Chili/Chowder/Stew/Soup Cook-off. 
2021 COVID Note:  For safety reasons, we won't be having our usual chili cookoff for 2021.



Around Alone Race - The long time–honored tradition of the Barefoot/Southern Sailing Clubs premier solo regatta, the Around Alone Regatta, it is usually held in the early spring on Lake Lanier. Come on out with the rest of the hardy singlehanders on a race from the Chattahoochee Bay area of the Lake, to Buford Dam and back! Then join everyone for good eats, socializing, and the awards party at Sunrise Cove Marina Clubhouse.  Scheduled for Saturday, April 24, 2021.

Joan Holcomb Memorial Women Skippers Race - NOR | SI  - This race is held in memory of Joan Holcomb, BFSC’s 1994 Commodore.  For the race, a woman must helm the boat and make tactical decisions.  Afterwards, we meet at Branch House Tavern for the awards ceremony. Scheduled for Saturday, May 15, 2021 (rain date is Sunday, May 16, 2021).

Spring Series - Six race series held in the spring, beginning in March. Multiple races may be held each race day.  Click the link for SI and details.


Moonlight Race (NOR|SI) -  Due to popular demand, the Moonlight Scramble is expanding from a two to a four evening race series held in the summer months as close to the full moon nights as possible for Saturday evening races. It is intended to be a fun race where sailors are out late enjoying fresh night breezes and the full moon. Combined with the Southern Sailing Clubs Fire Fly series, these races give sailors a chance to compete in both at once. The races will have a pursuit start. 


Fall Series -  Beginning in August, this six race series, held each fall, usually has multiple races each race day. All but the first two races start at 1pm, with skippers meeting at 11am at Aqualand ships store parking lot.  Exceptions are: the first race at 6pm with 4pm skipper meeting; second race at 2pm with noon skippers meeting.

Barefoot Open Regatta - The Barefoot Open Regatta is typically held the first weekend in October.  From the Friday night Skipper’s Meeting to the Saturday morning continental breakfast, the two full days of racing for all fleets, and the fantastic parties and food. All of this is on top of one of the best venues for lake racing, plus knowledgeable and experienced race committee and judges - a formula for a great weekend of sailing!  Open to all sailboats on Lake Lanier with a current PHRF certificate.  The 47th BFO will be held the weekend of October 1-3, 2021.

Dorton Cup Series - This closed regatta is for Barefoot Sailing Club skippers only.  Crew do not need to be Barefoot members.  The results of the Dorton Cup will be incorporated into the Skipper of the Year tally.  Scheduled for Sunday, November 14, 2021.

Race times given are for the pre-race skipper's meeting, held in front of Aqualand Ship's Store.  We need volunteers from members willing to ride on the Race Committee boat. If you want to experience the thrill of watching the race up close, please contact me. Hope to see you out there!

Tedd Meinersmann

Racing Captain

Privacy Policy | Acceptable Use | Site Rules
Copyright © 2020 Barefoot Sailing Club. All Rights Reserved