top of page

* Annual Awards *

At least four club awards are presented annually at the Barefoot Holiday Awards Banquet. These awards are selected by the BFSC board from written nominations submitted by BFSC members. The only criteria for these awards are that the individual submitting the nomination(s) and each nominee must be current BFSC members.  Each award acknowledges the general contributions or accomplishments of the recipient in specific areas. 

To see past recipients of each award, click the award name hyperlinks below.


The Crew of the Year Award recognizes the member who, in a position other than skipper, has contributed to the "success" of the boat/team. The member may have crewed either on racing or cruising boats or both. Crew may have been particularly skilled, dependable or supportive of the skipper's objectives, may have provided consistency or cohesion to the team or may have ensured that gear or provisions were in order, so the skipper could focus on other concerns. The crew may have taken initiative to better her/himself and thereby improved the overall team.


The Cruiser of the Year Award recognizes the member who embraces or, by example, personifies non-competitive sailing (cruising) activities. The member may have organized or participated in local or blue-water cruising events, entertained in a cruising environment, embarked on a cruising lifestyle, provided coaching during cruising events, or derived or imparted joy and/or enthusiasm for cruising events.

Each year, the BFSC Commodore may present the Life Achievement Award to a deserving member who has contributed to the sport of sailing over a number of years and in a number of ways. The award is given in memory of Don Martin and while this is not a nominated award, the commodore appreciates receiving recommendations for consideration. 


Usually nominated by the Racing Captain, but if club members have nominees, please submit.  The Skipper of the Year is a member who is skilled at the helm.  S/he also demonstrates a great deal of sportsmanship on the water during a race.  S/he promotes racing for the betterment of the sport and club participation. 


The Spark Plug Award recognizes the member who has contributed to the success of the club this year. The member may have taken on a special project, organized an activity, volunteered or pitched in when there was a need, or in some way helped the club reach out to its members. The member may have been the catalyst to make things happen or to get something done. Or, the member may have "helped" the club by engendering enthusiasm and/or participation in club activities. This member provided a special "spark" that was otherwise missing.


The Sportsmanship Award awarded by BFSC and is submitted for national consideration to US Sailing, recognizes the sailor who has demonstrated a concern and dedication to the betterment of the sport of sailing. This member consistently demonstrates the traits of fair play and sportsmanship, a commitment to individual and collective safety in sailing activities and the on-going development of the sport of sailing.

and last, but not least...


There are also one-of-a-kind awards... sometimes special recognition or humorous awards. One popular award in the past has been the "Boom Stop" award. Another recent one is the POLYWOG award recognizing the new sailor and/or member whose excitement and enthusiasm for sailing and the sailing community embodies the spirit of the Barefoot Sailing Club. These are fun, and at least mostly tasteful, awards that members personally present.

Annual Awards Dinner

December 3, 2023

Anne D. Kraft Memorial Crew - Linda Hoopes
Cruisers - David and Jacqueline Steadman

Polywog - Maggie Moncrief

Skipper - Pete Winham
Sparkplug - Laura Clarke

Special Recognition to outgoing board members:

Norman Plotkin (Cruising Fleet Captain)
Fred Kempner (Racing Fleet Captain)

Photo credits: Evelyn Rosier, E.Schroder, and Jacqueline Steadman
bottom of page