Barefoot Sailing Club Awards

At least four club awards are presented annually at the Barefoot Holiday Awards Dinner. These awards are selected by the BFSC board from written nominations submitted by BFSC members. The only criteria for these awards are that the individual submitting the nomination(s) and each nominee must be current BFSC members.  Each award acknowledges the general contributions or accomplishments of the recipient in specific areas.  

Nominations for these awards must be submitted in writing to any current member of the board no later than the October membership meeting to be considered. Members are encouraged to submit written nominations briefly describing the reason their fellow member deserves the award.

Here are the awards and who won them last year:

CRUISER OF THE YEAR Award (Jeff & Kathy Paes). The Cruiser of the Year Award recognizes the member who embraces or, by example, personifies non-competitive sailing (cruising) activities. The member may have organized or participated in local or bluewater cruising events, entertained in a cruising environment, embarked on a cruising lifestyle, provided coaching during cruising events, or derived or imparted joy and/or enthusiasm for cruising events.
SPORTSMANSHIP Award (AJ Smith). The Sportsmanship Award, awarded by BFSC and is submitted for national consideration to US Sailing, recognizes the sailor who has demonstrated a concern and dedication to the betterment of the sport of sailing. This member consistently demonstrates the traits of fair play and sportsmanship, a commitment to individual and collective safety in sailing activities and the on-going development of the sport of sailing.
CREW of the Year Award (Mike & Joann Justice). The Crew of the Year Award recognizes the member who, in a position other than skipper, has contributed to the "success" of the boat/team. The member may have crewed either on racing or cruising boats or both. Crew may have been particularly skilled, dependable or supportive of the skipper's objectives, may have provided consistency or cohesion to the team or may have ensured that gear or provisions were in order, so the skipper could focus on other concerns. The crew may have taken initiative to better her/himself and thereby improved the overall team.
SPARKPLUG (Joyce McIntosh). The Sparkplug Award recognizes the member who has contributed to the success of the club this year. The member may have taken on a special project, organized an activity, volunteered or pitched in when there was a need, or in some way helped the club reach out to its members. The member may have been the catalyst to make things happen or to get something done. Or, the member may have "helped" the club by engendering enthusiasm and/or participation in club activities. This member provided a special "spark" that was otherwise missing.

LIFETIME  ACHIEVEMENT Award (David Wright). Each year, the BFSC Commodore may present the Life Achievement Award to a deserving member who has contributed to the sport of sailing over a number of years and in a number of ways. In the past this award has been presented to Chris Webster (2004), Margaret Sherrod (2005), Edith Collins (2006), Tom Graham (2007), Steve O’Hagan (2008), Rory Robichaux (2013). Paul Zantzinger (2014), Lee Cook (2015) While this is not a nominated award, the commodore appreciates receiving recommendations for consideration. Suggestions for this award should be given to the commodore by the October membership meeting.


SKIPPER OF THE YEAR  (Tedd Meinersmann)  Must have raced in at least 4 races of either BFSC series, must have raced in at least 2 races of the other BFSC series and must have served on Race committee at least 1 time during the Dorton Cup Series Races.

Dorton Cup: (AJ Smith)

There are also .... well... humorous awards. One frequent award has been the "Boom Stop" award. These are fun, and at least mostly tasteful, awards that members personally present.